A finish… and a start

I finally finished my Coin Toss quilt, which I think should be subtitled “Turning Point” because that finish seemed to reset my quilting mojo. I’ve been sewing! It’s wonderful!

Coin Toss is a bed quilt – too big, really, for my full size bed, but that hasn’t stopped me from using it. It’s six and a half feet wide and eight feet long (80″ x 96″, or 203cm x 244cm) and I love it. It was an incredibly easy quilt, perfect as a stash buster, and I finished the top in about three days. It sat on the quilting frame for 6 months. I finished quilting it on Christmas Day, and hand sewed the last of the binding at 12:50 am on New Year’s Day. Here are far too many photos:

Roll of Coins

Coin Toss quilt again

As soon as I hung it over the quilting frame, the cats headed into their fort…

The fort

…but Buttercup had to come out and look at the front.

Coin Toss quilt

As I quilted it, I wrote words that had special meaning to me. Here are a few:

Christmas 2011
Christmas 2011
Laugh
Laugh
Accept
Accept
Joy
Joy
Breathe!
Breathe!
Peace
Peace
obstinance
Obstinance
tradition
Tradition
Family
Family
Courage
Courage
YES...
Yes...

… I do wear white cotton socks and Birkenstocks…

As I was quilting, my aunt noticed I was writing things and asked me about it. I was making a pass from right to left at that point, and I told her I could write something backward. She laughed – and I wrote “backward” – backward. Mirror image.

Backward, backward
Backward, backward

Here’s the back of the quilt, where you can see “backward” forward.

Backward, forward
Backward, forward

And here’s the entire back of the quilt. Because if I have to piece the backing, I’m going to piece the backing.

Back of the Coin Toss quilt

As for the start, we pulled fabrics for the Birds in the Air quilt.

Fabrics for Birds in the Air

Mom is sewing the first of the 672 HST units.

10 comments

  1. It’s beautiful! I especially like the words you put in. I like bedspreads that are oversized; they’re so much more practical and warmer. Lovely, lovely, lovely work.

  2. That is a beautiful quilt! Congratulations on completing it! I love the words quilted into it. You have inspired me to do the same to mine! I’ve been quilting the border in a loop-de-loop but I wasn’t really feeling it like I did when I quilted the blocks. I think the words are exactly what I need! Good luck on the next one!

  3. It’s lovely, Sandi! It’s way too hot (33°C – 91°F) to stand in an uninsulated garage and quilt today so I am admiring other people’s work instead!

  4. Wowow!!! LOOK AT THAT BACK. I am in looOOOove! 😀 Definitely a coin toss quilt – you can put it heads up or tails up and it’s gorgeous either way. Love the words quilted in , and I’m particularly impressed that you can quilt script backwards! ;D

  5. This is just awesome! I imagine quilting to be a very peaceful and zen experience. Plus, you get something beautiful to snuggle into in the end. Love it!

  6. I love the quilt. The words are a great idea. Good luck with the HST. I have been making a quilt with only them, and though it was a lot less than yours, it seems to have taken forever.

Comments are closed.